Triptych

I began working on all three canvas at the same time because I wanted to treat them as a triptych. The paintings are under painted with a mixture of white emulsion and coffee. I then used oil bars and soft pastels over collage materials. The more abstract painting took the longest and was the most difficult to complete, the layers of emulsion became built up, causing it to crack and pull away from the canvas. The end result of this working method is a painting that is fragile because of the materials and processes I have used, this is something that I need to refine as it is difficult not to damage the canvases. All the collage materials I have used have been found forms, something that I could put more emphasis on; as I have started to do in the more abstract painting of houses.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Triptych”

Leave a comment