Ardent Gallery Competition

4. Untitled (Oil Bar and Collage)

2. View of Houses

I submitted five paintings into a public completion ran by Ardent Gallery in Brecon, out of which these two were chosen by the gallery to be displayed.

 

The statement I sent off about my artistic practice: “I am in my second year of studying Fine Art at Cardiff Metropolitan University. My current artistic practice seeks to convey the beauty and mystical qualities of contemporary industrial landscapes, inspired by Prunella Clough and the surreal landscapes of Paul Nash. Rather than beginning with a specific subject matter in mind, my working methods involve walking a route and making observations while on foot, I then work from these sketches I have made in the studio. I like to use a variety of materials, as a result the canvas becomes a collage of found materials and various mediums, tending to avoid paint as much as possible. Some of the paintings I have submitted are more representational, however I also enjoy emphasising the abstract qualities that naturally occur in the landscape. “

Leave a Reply

