Personal Statement

Through painting and collage, my work explores the prevalence of satellite imagery and its relation to the contemporary perception of what a Landscape is. Due to technology and satellite systems landscape is increasingly seen from an aerial perspective. The ability to be constantly aware of our location and to have our journeys mapped out for us has rendered the principals of Psychogeography difficult to follow, creating a disconnect with our surroundings.

These collated maps take influence from the Cubists by incorporating multiple perspectives that merge two dislocated vantage points; aerial and eye-level perspective. Much of my collage material is collected from motifs and symbols that appear on Google Maps which I have used to create a ‘route’ through my collages. I hope for my work to be ‘read’ by the viewer as maps of locations, recording my perception of landscape through the technology I use to navigate through each place.

 

1 thought on “Personal Statement”

Leave a Reply

